Written by BM Digital on September 26, 2018 in News

Kopano Bus Service ten-person board of directors has only one woman, she is Olivia Maponya who has been there since the establishment of the company in 2001.

Kopano DIrectors

Board members – Sitted: Mahlangu J and Motau N, Standing: Maponya O, Malefo R, Groenewald B, Modjela J and Somo M

And because of her persistent dedication and hard work the company is now winning PMR Awards annually since 2012 as a good gesture amongst the community it services.

Recently the company scooped 2 PMR Diamond Arrow awards 1st overall in the categories of Local Transport Companies and Institutions doing most in their sectors over the past 12 months to stimulate economic growth and development in Limpopo province. They also came tops as one of the best companies in Limpopo that has demonstrated exceptional managerial and good corporate governance qualities.

The 2018 Awards are so very special because they came in August which is a month dedicated to the recognition and advancement of women in South Africa.

Directors with Staff

Board members displaying the awards together with their management team members

As a woman who understands the pressures of running a business, Olivia believes that she is not there just for a ‘quota’ and she believes that she would not have achieved alone without the support of her board and management team.

Olivia says she believes in ‘quite Leadership’ and acknowledges the talents of others to take the company to the next level.

“Our efforts to build Kopano as a strong recognisable brand in Limpopo are paying off slowly and very soon our company will be counted with the best in South Africa” Olivia said

She further added that “Our investment into our own internal systems and infrastructure will further boost our capacity to deliver on our new mandate”

In 2017 Kopano Bus service won both PMR Diamond and Gold Awards for their contribution to provincial economy as well as a company doing most to promote participation of women in the economy.

Board members sitted around table

Board members sitted around the table – Motau N, Maponya O, Malefo R, Mahlangu J, Modjela J, Moloto T (Technical Manager)

Leave Comment